The World’s Newest Countries



Image: Toronto Sun

I always cringe in our local pub quiz when the geography questions come along – and pray that they refer to something I know in order to maintain my street-cred.


In a recent quiz, a couple of questions referred to ‘new’ countries of the world, and it led me to check that I was up to speed with all of the newest countries to gain world recognition.

Here is my list:

  1. South Sudan – declared independence from Sudan in 2011, and is currently the newest sovereign country of the world, and a member of the United Nations.
  2. Timor Leste – formerly East Timor, which gained independence from Indonesia in 2002. timor-leste-010211
  3. Eritrea – annexed by Ethiopia in 1962 after a long civil war, eventually gained independence in 1993.
  4. Palau – Gained independence in 1994, and now exists in free association with the USA which is responsible for its defence and foreign affairs.
  5. Kosovo – part of the former Yugoslavia, broke away from Serbia and unilaterally declared independence in 2008. Recognised by the UK and many other United Nations countries, but is not actually a UN member state.
  6. Montenegro – joined with Serbia in 1992 after the collapse of Yugoslavia – but Montenegro withdrew from this alliance in 2006.
  7. Serbia – formed in 2006 after the alliance with Montenegro collapsed.
  8. Slovakia – born as a nation in 1993 following the dissolution of Czechoslovakia.
  9. Czech Republic – created in 1993 following the disintegration of Czechoslovakia.
  10. Bosnia & Herzegovina – created in 1992 following the break up of Yugoslavia.
  11. Croatia – formed in 1991 following the break up of Yugoslavia.
  12. Slovenia – formed in 1991 following the break up of Yugoslavia.

In addition to these, the earlier disintegration of the USSR gave rise to 15 new countries – Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.

And what of the future? Maybe these will be the next ‘new’ countries to figure in pub quizzes –

Catalonia – a region of Spain located on the north east coast and bordering France and Andorra; Flemish Republic – (Belgium) Flanders differs greatly from Wallonia in terms of language and culture; Venito – some in Venice envision the city becoming a European version of Singapore; Scotland – calls for Scottish independence are still alive; Abkhazia – this region has been disputed for centuries, and tried to separate from Georgia when it was made independent; South Ossetia – recognised by Russia as an independent nation; Transnistra – currently an unrecognised state within Moldova; New Russia – Donetsk and Luhansk, 2 self-declared republics in Ukraine; West Papua – western half of New Guinea; Somaliland – a state within Somalia





About devongeography

Head of Geography and Assistant Vice Principal at South Molton Community College, North Devon. Exeter Chiefs supporter!
This entry was posted in General Geo, Human World, Maps, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s