Drone Footage For The Classroom

Drone pic

Now that the weather is beginning to improve, I am looking forward to making full use of one of my Christmas gifts. I have spent a few weeks in ‘beginner’s mode’, but am now confident enough to take my Phantom Three drone to some interesting geographical locations and capture some unique photos and video footage.

One of my first attempts recently was at Landacre Bridge on Exmoor. I successfully captured still images like the one below, but made a bit of a mess with the video footage – more practice needed in this area! The drone has a set programme that follows the remote controller as he/she walks, and also surrounds a pre-set point on a designated flight path, so I am sure I can make use of these in a geographical context.

Landacre 2

This is the sort of thing I am aspiring to:

This storm footage at St Malo was filmed by ‘Easy Ride’ videos:

Here, filmmaker John Duncan used DJI Inspire 1 and DJI Phantom 3 drones to capture footage of Scotland’s wilderness areas.  

Explorer Sam Cossman captured these images of the Marum Crater in Vanuatu. However, he did lose two drones in the process – so I will be concentrating on safer sites myself!

Subscribe: http://bit.ly/NatGeoSubscribe

Armed with a remotely operated mini­helicopter, National Geographic engineer Alan Turchik gets a bird’s­-eye view of 3,000-­year-­old Nubian royal burial chambers.

Subscribe: http://bit.ly/NatGeoSubscribe

The Long Lost Village of Hallsands & Start Point Lighthouse Devon captured from above using a DJI Phantom 4 Drone 

If anyone has any bright ideas how drone footage could be used in the classroom, please let me know. Also, If anyone out there has any experience with flying camera drones, please get in touch – I am always keen to seek out advice.

 

 

 

About devongeography

Head of Geography and Assistant Vice Principal at South Molton Community College, North Devon. Exeter Chiefs supporter!
This entry was posted in Curriculum, Fieldwork, General Geo, Teachers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

