Where Will You Find Me At The 2016 Geography Conference?

GALogo_400x400It isn’t long now to the annual Geography Association Conference – held again this time in Manchester from April 7th to 9th.

I always look forward to meeting up with some of my ‘Geo friends’, and here is a summary of some of my plans for the conference and where I can be found.

If you see me around, do make yourself known and qualify for a free ‘Geo hug’ to say hello.

Thursday 7th

I aim to arrive around late afternoon in time for the public lecture delivered by John Raine and titled ‘Tackling The Ebola Crisis’. Following this, I will attend the awards presentations, and be ready to applaud the many worthy winners who have made a significant contribution to school geography over the past year. It will then be time to move on to the wine reception at the Manchester Museum – a great place to meet up with people, both old faces and new. No doubt there will be the chance of a few pints and a curry with a select bunch to round off the night.

Friday 8th

I haven’t made my final choices yet from the programme – but as ever, there is a wealth of opportunity offered by a wide range of presenters. I always try to attend the presidential lecture, and look forward to Steve Rawlinson talking about making geographical connections. Apart from this, I usually try to blend a mix of lectures and workshops as well as content from different key stages. I quite like the sound of John Lyon’s workshop titled ‘Updating your plate: refreshing approaches to plate tectonics’, as well as the debate on the role of fieldwork chaired by Nick Lapthorn, and also Nick Crane’s lecture titled ‘Coast: Cutting edge case studies.

I will also spend some time in the exhibition area, and particularly the Rayburn Travel stall in order to support my new employers.

beermeetI am presenting my humble offering at the Conference Teachmeet (from 18.45 to 20.15) – titled ’35 Years of Fieldwork’, and look forward to hearing the other presenters and stealing some new ideas. This event was really well attended last year, and if you have never been to a TeachMeet, I heartily recommend you come along. You will not be disappointed.

ScreenHunter_01 Feb. 19 00.07

Saturday 9th

Again, there is a great programme to select from on Saturday. Although I will attend some sessions in the morning, I will then have to prepare for my own session titled ‘You might as well face it – you’re addicted to maps’ in the afternoon. I hope to pass on some new ideas for using maps in classroom teaching, and although this workshop is flag-listed for students and NQTs, it is open to all. It is a bit of a ‘graveyard slot’ at the end of the conference ( I know my place ), but I hope enough people stick around for some fun and mayhem.

Here is my publicity shot advertising my presentation:

ScreenHunter_02 Feb. 18 17.49

That reminds me – I had better start some preparations!

See you there!

 

About devongeography

Head of Geography and Assistant Vice Principal at South Molton Community College, North Devon. Exeter Chiefs supporter!
This entry was posted in General Geo, Teachers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where Will You Find Me At The 2016 Geography Conference?

  1. stephen schwab says:

    Missing my fieldwork workshop on Fri pm?! oh well..
    One cant see/do it all I know.
    Hope to find you nevertheless, check out the SPC stand & other 2 workshops.

Leave a Reply

