Promoting Reading Across The School

As a contribution to a whole-school policy to promote reading, I have made a number of posters to advertise the books I have been reading recently. Many of them are have a geographical flavour, but the titles also reveal my interest in different sports.
I have displayed the posters in and around my room, and also on noticeboards throughout the school. They have generated considerable interest amongst students, and it has been pleasing when they have come forward to ask questions about the books, and test me on some of the content. The posters have also provided a stimulus to talk to students about their own reading – and some of them have even started making their own posters to display.
I am now regularly asked how I am getting on with my current book, and when the next poster will appear – which has encouraged me to find a bit more time in a busy schedule to lose myself in a good book.
The posters that have appeared to date are shown below:
ScreenHunter_03 Feb. 20 21.43
ScreenHunter_05 Feb. 20 21.44
ScreenHunter_04 Feb. 20 21.44
ScreenHunter_02 Feb. 20 21.43
ScreenHunter_01 Feb. 20 21.42

About devongeography

Head of Geography and Assistant Vice Principal at South Molton Community College, North Devon. Exeter Chiefs supporter!
This entry was posted in Curriculum, School, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Promoting Reading Across The School

Leave a Reply

