Digging For Fossils In The Classroom

A thoughtful colleague at school brought me a present yesterday. Knowing the way that I teach, she thought it may be useful in my lessons and she was right!

The ‘present’ was a small block of solid clay and gypsum that encases a collection of plastic bones that can be carefully extracted using the enclosed  tools – a soft knife and a brush. These can then be assembled into a small model of a prehistoric creature.

The whole kit sells for £1.70, and I am looking forward to using them with year eight students when we tackle a unit of work on the Jurassic Coast. Apart from work on coastal landforms, this unit also addresses aspects of geology, deep time and fossils. I intend to use the kits when we look at fossils found in the Lyme Regis area, an area we also visit for a fieldtrip where we search for fossils of our own.

The kits are made in China and sold in toy shops in the UK. They also make a similar kit that contains gemstones. The range is advertised on the manufacturers web site:

www.ootb.de

I’m not sure yet if I can sustain purchasing class sets of these every year – but I will try it this time, and see if the financial outlay is worth it. Perhaps I will just have to settle for using them as prizes to reward outstanding work and effort – I may even have a go at making some myself!

About devongeography

Head of Geography and Assistant Vice Principal at South Molton Community College, North Devon. Exeter Chiefs supporter!
This entry was posted in Physical World, Teachers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

